51st Race Prize-Giving Highlights Diverse Fleet, Family, Youth

The St. David’s Lighthouse Trophy, Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy, and 100-plus more awards were presented to conclude the 2018 Newport Bermuda Race. 
His Excellency, the Governor of Bermuda, John Rankin, hosted the Newport Bermuda Race Prize-Giving on Saturday, welcoming hundreds of guests to the grounds of Government House and assisting with the presentation of more than 100 awards. It was a diverse, multi-generational cast of sailors who came forward to receive prizes from the Governor and Jon Corless, commodore of the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club, and Brad Willauer, commodore of the Cruising Club of America. James Macdonald, the RBYC Honourable Secretary, served as master of ceremonies, presenting the entire nine-page prize list.

Jim Grundy Grundoon wins William L. Glenn Family Participation Prize

Along with a daughter and two sons, Jim Grundy receives the William L. Glenn Family Participation Prize for winning St. David’s Lighthouse Class 4. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Jim Grundy’s Grundoon won the famous St. David’s Lighthouse Trophy for the best corrected time in the largest division of 85 boats. Sailing with one daughter and two sons in the crew, Grundy, of Doylestown, Penn., made off with half a dozen other trophies including the William L. Glenn Family Participation Prize and the Dorade Trophy for vintage yachts over 25 years old. Grundy’s father purchased Grundoon, a Columbia 50, in 1968.

St. David's Lighthouse Trophy Jim Grundy Grundoon

Jim Grundy receives the St. David’s Lighthouse Trophy won by his team aboard Grundoon. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Wizard, a Volvo Ocean 70 owned by the Askew brothers, won the other beautiful silver lighthouse trophy—the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy. Finishing first on corrected time among the highest-performance boats of the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division, the Askews picked up their second major win in six months following a victory at the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race last December. David and Peter Askew are from Sandy, Utah and Riderwood, Md., respectively. There were 22 entries in the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division.

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy Wizard Peter Askew

Peter Askew receives the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy for winning the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division with Wizard, owned by Peter and his brother David. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Orca, an Island Packet 38 owned by Harold and Mary Guidotti, of Westbrook, Conn., won the Finisterre Division of 40 boats and received the Carleton Mitchell Finisterre Trophy. The trophy is named for the three-time winning skipper and his boat, which coincidentally was also 38 feet long.

Carleton Mitchell Finisterre Trophy Harold Mary Guidotti Orca

Harold and Mary Guidotti and crew receive the Carleton Mitchell Finisterre Trophy for winning the Finisterre division in their Island Packet 38, Orca. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo


Philip S. Weld Prize Zachary Lee Yankee Girl

Zachary Lee (second from left) receives the Philip S. Weld Prize for Yankee Girl’s victory in the Double-Handed Division. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Yankee Girl won the Philip S. Weld Prize for the best corrected time in the 15-boat Double-Handed Division. Skipper Zachary Lee of Vineyard Haven, Mass., accepted the prize, and his crew Lief Counter, of Pelham, N.Y., received the Moxie Prize, which is awarded in recognition of the other half of the winning double-handed crew.

Leif Counter Moxie Prize Yankee Girl Newport Bermuda Race Double-Handed Division

Leif Counter receives the Moxie Prize as crew aboard Yankee Girl winner of the Double-Handed Division. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com

The Swan 48 Dreamcatcher won the Stephens Brothers Youth Prize for the best performance by a youth division crew, with most of the crew between the ages of 14 and 23. The boat was entered in the race by the Mudratz, a youth-sailing non-profit organization in Eastern Connecticut.

Mudratz Dreamcatcher

The MudRatz youth team on Dreamcatcher receives the Stephens Brothers Youth Prize after winning Class 5 St. David’s Lighthouse Division. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Completing his 23rd Newport Bermuda Race, E. Llwyd Ecclestone, Jr., of West Palm Beach, Fla., was recognized at the Prize-Giving as a new member of the Bermuda Race Roll of Honour. Reflecting on his long-time crew and years of sailing together, Ecclestone offered their three rules of offshore sailing: “Eat well, respect the watch system, and there are no heroes on the boat.”

E. Llywd Ecclestone Jr Jon Corless John Rankin Brad Willauer

Recognized as the newest member of the Bermuda Race Roll of Honour—E. Llwyd Ecclestone, Jr. Left to right are Commodore Jon Corless (Royal Bermuda Yacht Club), Ecclestone, His Excellency, the Governor of Bermuda John Rankin, and Commodore Brad Willauer (Cruising Club of America). Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Eric Best of Feo received the Cook’s Award for perseverance and fortitude in cooking for a racing crew longer than anyone else in the race. Skippered by Best’s daughter, Isabelle, the steel Joshua 47 Feo finished in 146 hours, 54 minutes, 17 seconds, a little more than 96 hours after Rambler 88 became the first boat to finish the race.

Cook's Award Eric Best Newport Bermuda Race

Eric Best receives the Cook’s Award as cook on Feo, which had the greatest elapsed time in the race. Nic Douglass – AdventuresofaSailorGirl.com photo

Watch the livestream of the Prize-Giving Ceremony below:

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply