H. Irving Pratt 3-Boat Team Entry Form

3-Boat Team Trophy

3-Boat Team Trophy


The Pratt Trophy was given by friends in memory of H. Irving Pratt who took a serious and sustained interest in the problem of handicapping offshore yachts for racing. He had been Chairman of the CCA Technical Committee, Commodore of the New York Yacht Club and sponsor of the Pratt Ocean Racing Project at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Entry is open to any number of self-selected three-yacht teams sailing the 2018 Newport Bermuda Race in the St. David’s Lighthouse, Gibbs Hill Lighthouse, Double-Handed and Finisterre Divisions. Teams may be composed of any 3-boat combination of vessels from these divisions. (Vessels in any one team may be from the same division or a mix of these divisions.) The winning team is that with the best combined performance under the Race’s Cross-Divisional (“X-DV”) system. No yacht may be a member of more than one team.  DO CONFIRM with your teammate skippers that this is indeed the case prior to entry submission.  On occasion entries have been made with the best of intentions including a vessel already submitted as member of another team.  This and result in disqualification for this prize of both teams if a single yacht is double-entered.  


Individual trophies will be awarded to each member of the winning team. These “Keeper” awards are unique: Mounted and engraved plaques showing the name of the respective individual winner, the hull lines of that yacht and an appropriate description. Plaques are made using each winning vessel’s own line drawings on file at US Sailing.


Entry is by written notice delivered on this document electronically no later than 0900, Friday, June 15, 2018. Entry must include the name of the team, names of the three participating yachts and name of the skipper submitting for his team.

Pratt Team Form

  • Example: Victorious, US343223
  • Ex: John Doe, Eagle
  • (In case committee has an eligibility question.)
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

See all other Special Entry Prizes.